Another variant!

For the sake of maintaining uniformity in buoyage system worldwide, IALA divided the world into two regions – Region A and Region B.

Region A includes Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, the Gulf and some Asian countries.  Region B comprises of North, South, Central America, Japan, Korea, and the Philippines.  

While the colour, shape, top marks, light and the rhythm of light identify a buoy / mark, the physical structure can vary greatly.  Check out some interesting examples below.   

Cardinal Marks
Special Marks
Isolated Danger Marks
Safe Water Marks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *